Direktlänk till inlägg 14 juni 2017

Day 11 - Hue

Av Magnus Ekstrand - 14 juni 2017 16:33

We rose early and had a very nice morning breakfast(especially considering this was a hostel and not hotel). After this we gathered our things and left for Hue. Irony had it that it was the same train, or at least trainidentification code as last time. But as said it was only 3 hours. We were seated behing a ground of merry Vietnamnese roughly at our own age. They were very loud but we didn't really mind. They also seemed to be slightly intrested in us and we both noticed that the girls in front of us took pictures with themselves and us(the kind of one that also happen to add rabbitears to the people in the photo). But as I said we didn't really mind. When we excited we both got a pat on the back and on the abdomen and some uniteligable vietnamese cheery sounding comment from one of the lads. No idea what that was about.


In Hue we quickly made it to the hotel, booked a cabride to take us to the five most worthwhile sights in Hue the next day. Then, still being tired and a bit under the weather(hehe) we rested in the hotel for awhile. Since I had been feeling a pain in my left ear since three days and it hadn't really gotten any better I decided to see what options there was. After only(...) wait time to my insurancecompany I found out that whatever option I'd have to pay up to 1200:- myself anyway. This made me reconsider my initial idea of having a collegue(doctor) check it up for me since I didn't really know where to start anyway. We did however pass a pharmacy where I entered and quickly explained that I felt like I had an ear infection. 5 seconds later i had a box of potent antibiotics(usually reserved for resistant bacteria in Sweden) in front of me(Spektramox) for only 120 SEK. I didn't buy it. Even though I'd considered that it may need antibiotic treatment just taking pills without certain diagnose made no real sense in the end. So I left the pharmacy empty handed but with idle thoughts about that bacterial resistance to antibiotics must be dire here for them to offer me Spektramox as a first line of treatment. Or maybe they just gave me whatever they'd know worked. either way it gave me an uneasy feeling.


After this we walked the streets of Hue with little direction. We visited two pagodas and watched a market. We also found a very large shopping centre(like the ones you find everywhere in Sweden) and browsed for awhile. Now we are back at the hotel just taking it easy, gathering energy for tomorrows tour around the city.

    

Dayview of some of the buildnings close to the beach in Da Nang.  

Time to board the train. Our former friends the military also showed up for this one. However no soliders in blue uniform this time. Not sure what the differance is.  

Train to Hue was slow and rocky, but had some pretty sights.     

 

Was picked up by the hotels driver which showed a not to uncommon example of Vietnamese  parking when leaving us at the hotel  

Out in hue, visiting the local streets. 

 

Some more nice views from the bridge.  

"Looks like Mälaren"  

Market!

market! :)    

There was many minor water channels passing through Hue.

   

The first pagoda.  

On our way back we met these guys. They knew enough english to ask our names, origin and how we were feeling. They also had that easy going attitude that you feel in the entire Vietnam, but with a childish take. Why not go up to two complete strangers, run around their feet for awhile and then start a conversation?  

Second pagoda, garden was kinda more nice than the house.  

Bridge to the main "Island in Hue" which surrounds the Imperial city(we are going tomorrow)  

Just a regular street in Hue with everyday events.  

First accident we've seen in Vietnam. No damage to the drivers. The MC seemed to be stuck however. 

Lastly I did something I kinda which I didn't, or don't  really don't know how I feel about. I went to the local hospital which was a large one to get a feel for Vietnamnese healthcare. While it was interesting walking the corridors and I even had a quick peak into the emergency rooom, I really out of place. Like a tourist gawking at peoples suffering, which was not why I was there at all. But I realized that is how it may very well seem to everyone I met. Also people was staring more than they had in other places and I got a feeling that my prescense really wasn't being appreciated. So I made my exit as switly as I could.


So tomorrow we will take a rented car around to The Imperial city, Thien Mu pagoda, Tu Duc/Minh Mang/Khai Dinh Tomb which are said to be some of the main sights in Hue. Having a private driver(and a car with AC) feels very nice as this will allow us to take our time. But a guide to expain what we're seeing would've been nice, but you can't have everything :).

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av Magnus Ekstrand - 25 juni 2017 17:04

First of all. Thank you all for reading. This will be the last day that I record for my Vietnam travels. It's been a great trip but I am really looking forward to returning to Sweden. This could well be noticed since we spent most of the day just tak...

Av Magnus Ekstrand - 25 juni 2017 08:00

We arrived abou 04:30 am to Hanoi and went directly to the hotel. The gates was barred but there was a doorbell which we rang 3 times before a drowsy looking guy opened the door. Much to our amazement we were allowed to check in at this time and we s...

Av Magnus Ekstrand - 23 juni 2017 13:55

So today we yet again had a private driver to drive us to some of the scenic points of the area. This happened to be the Love and Silver waterfall as well as the Fansipan mountain. The Love waterfall was the first and it was a really nice view. There...

Av Magnus Ekstrand - 23 juni 2017 04:40

So we arrived to early. The train stopped in Lao Cai which is a village close to Sapa. I was a bit curious on how we would actually get to Sapa from here but it didn't take long until we had a ride for 50 000VND(which is nothing). Directly after bein...

Av Magnus Ekstrand - 22 juni 2017 15:27

We woke up, fortunantly without any sign of cockroaches in our cabin and had a below average breakfast. After this we had some leisure time before the crew dropped us at a pearl museum. It feautured some monitors, a guided tour about pearls and oyste...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards